Surface mounted points advice

Oggyoggy1

Hi

I am new to this and would like to know everything that I would need to install surface mounted point motors including how to power them. I have a DCC system and would like to power & operate them seperate from my controller. Could somebody please itemise (an idiots guide) as to what I would need. Thanks Ian

See this web site:

http://www.brian-lambert.co.uk/Electrical.html#Motor

The web site above describes in detail many different options for operating points electrically under manual control (that is to say not through the DCC system as you requested).

Two comments I would make though. The web site shows the use of a CDU (Capacitor Discharge Unit) as an optional feature. Personally, the benefits of using a CDU are so great that I would include one as a mandatory requirement. Secondly, the wiring diagrams show the use of a Hornby R040 point operating switch or the PECO PL26 switch. Given a choice I would choose the PECO switch over the Hornby one (for the reasons given in the web site text). But I would go further than that and not use either of those products as they are very expensive for what they are. I would use bog standard electrical toggle switches that are SPDT (Single Pole Double Throw) with a Centre Off position and are non-locking biased switches. These are universally available through railway model shop outlets and model shop online suppliers and are significantly cheaper than the Hornby / PECO versions. They do however need to be physically mounted in a panel, so some extra installation work including the ability to solder is required.

Purely an example of the type of toggle switch I am suggesting.....click this link.

Hornby do not make a CDU, but many forum members recommend this one.

If you use a CDU, then you can use a much lower current power supply to operate your points. DO NOT use your controller DCC TRACK output to power the CDU or your point motors, it is not designed for that.