Select Controller and Overload

Paul_Rimmer

I'm new to DCC and have a Hornby Select controller. I have one DCC locomotive and two DC locomotives at the moment so not trying to run more than three as suggested. The problem I have is irrespective of the number of locomotives running. It appears to be a random event but every so often, the system overloads and the controller displays OL. It doesn't appear to depend on a locomotive being at a specific place on the track. If, when the system overloads, I pull the power cable out from the back of the controller and then plug it back in, the locomotives just start up again as if nothing had happened. If the overload was caused by a short, I would have expected the overload to have happened again.

I would welcome any suggestions as to how to identify the fault. I don't particulary want to buy the 4v transformer for the Select unless this is the only option.

If Select overloads as in too many amps being drawn when using the 1 amp power unit then self protection is by way of a voltage drop at the wall plug device and the Select will reboot over and over (start screen sequence will show time and again). A short is the usual overload condition but too many locos will also pull up the OL flag then reboot scenario.

If there is definitely no short and its only one loco causing the problem then I suggest taking a stall current reading of that one using a DC supply and a multi-meter that will read more than 2 amps DC - many meters only have 200mA capability and are not suitable for the test.

Rob

Are you trying the run the two DC locomotives on the DCC track using the Select. Either together or one at a time.

Regardless of what the Select manual might say regarding support of a DC Analogue loco on a DCC controlled track.......don't do it.

If you continue to do so, you really do risk overheating and burning out the armature coils of your DC Analogue locos.