Track barriers ?

Rogan

Hi i am also new to the world of scalectric and I have the super international GT track and have just purchased the arc one. I'm looking at purchasing more tracks second hand to build up my collection. Can you buy any track barriers or are there ones for vintage only ?

I've also been reading that you shouldn't use the track on carpet? Im thinking of boarding out my loft and creating a kind of landscape for the track to run on can anyone advice me on what's best for the houses/grass/ people as ive seen they can be really pricey.

Kind regards

I've been looking at barriers and was also having trouble finding some.  I'm going to take a try at building my own.  If you have a pinterest account do a search for "slot car barriers" and there's some good pictures on how to build different types.

You have several options.

You have to decide if you will mount the "barriers" (I am assuming you mean Aramco guardrail type barriers) directly to the track or if you want to use borders aka run offs as well.

The latest offering is guardrails and borders can be found here:

https://www.scalextric.com/uk-en/shop/track/curves-borders.html

https://www.scalextric.com/uk-en/shop/track/straights-straight-borders.html

If you want them directly on the track:

You can also get vintage guardrails that are less then a half straight in length or longer, white ones that are only one thin piece of plastic. Both connect to each other in their own styles.

Scalextric Spain (SCX) makes Aramco style guardrails that fit perfectly that are a full standard length long and connect to each other.  I use these a lot because I race with kids on a table and I need the extra protection. :-) It also speeds up build time. They also make borers/run offs that fit perfectly and you can attach the guardrails on the outside of these. They all fit to UK Scalextric track fine. (same lengths and radii)