Just starting out

Phil the newbie

Hi, 

I’m really new to model trains. The last time I touched a model train I was 8. It’s safe to say things have changed. 

My dear wife has bought me a nice starter set. The western messenge, with which I am very pleased. However I know I will be expanding, as i’ve converted my loft/attic to accommodate. 

If I start out building a track to the layout I want will I be able to use all the track, I know the engine would need converting if I wanted to use it, to which I will just by another. But can the track be used for digital trains. Or is the special adopters for it. 

This may seem like a silly question, but just wanted to double check. 

Many thanks

There is no difference between DCC and analogue (dc) track except for the power connectors and power tracks.  The dc ones have an interference suppression capacitor in them which needs to be removed for use on DCC, though many (most?) people with larger layouts just solder power feeds direct to the rails as this is the most reliable method.  Larger layouts usually benefit from many power feeds rather than just one, which you may want in the future.

Hornby points also have to have R8232 point clips fitted when used on DCC. Ordering stock code R8232 gives a pack of 20 clips, 2 clips per point.

However, the R8232 point clips can be dispensed with if you adopt the multiple power feed approach outlined by Rog above. In essence, he is describing a DCC Bus power distribution system.

Hi Phil, Welcome to the Forum and a return to the Hobby

Let us know how you get on and please don't hesitate to ask questions, no matter how basic you think they may be.  There a lot of very knowledgeable members on here.

In terms of conversion to DCC, most trains can be easily converted.  Some require some basic soldering to attach the Decoder (and I imagine your Messenger is one of those).

Some come DCC ready, which means that there is a socket into which a Decoder can simply be plugged.