DCC fitted loco not responding on DCC layout

David8

Can anyone help or advise me?

I purchased a DCC Fitted P2 Cock O The North Locomotive and have tried to run it on my Hornby DCC Somerset Belle Set layout. My other locomotives work fine but the Cock o The North jerks forward a few centermeters then stops. 

I was adviced to run it on 03 as the default programme number. Im using a Hornby Select controller to for this layout. Please keep in mind this is my first Hornby set and I am new to all this. I love this new P2 Locomotive and need some help getting it going or fixing a problem. 

Thank you all in advance.

David

Welcome David

Try to read the address of this loco and change it to a different number e.g. 5 or whatever you like in the range 0- 59.

Have you changed the address of the 'Belle Jinty and other locos to something other than 3.

If all else fails a reset of the CoN decoder is advised but unfortunately your Select can't do that.

Rob

Welcome David

Try to read the address of this loco and change it to a different number e.g. 5 or whatever you like in the range 0- 59.

Have you changed the address of the 'Belle Jinty and other locos to something other than 3.

If all else fails a reset of the CoN decoder is advised but unfortunately your Select can't do that.

Rob

Hi Rob,

Thank you for the warm welcome and for the advice. I had tried as you suggested but sadly no luck with changing the programme number. 

I have contacted the person I purchased the P2 Loco from and it has been set at 03 by the previous owner. Often when I place it on the track the Select Controller reads OL. How would I go about resetting the CoN?

At the moment I am a total novice but I hope to change that! haha

Many thanks

David

If it was bought second hand, then it is more likely it is a faulty loco and that is why the original owner passed it on.