DCC Select Programming

helphelp

Hi, I'm new to Hornby railway layouts. I've jumped straight into digital sets.I've managed to set up new DCC fitted locos on the Select controller. But can somebody tell me how to set up accessories such as points motors and signals such as the Train Tech DS3 Home Distant signal. These Train Tech signals look good to me although they are expensive so does Hornby have any plan to see their own DCC signals?

hi 

the ds3 needs two address , address (1) will control the red /green and address (2) will control the amber 

so clip in the signal to the track , short out the the metal contacts on the side 

pick your address ( the select accesories start at 60 )  say 60  then press the direction arrows on your select ,the  signal should be programmed , 

then call up the address and press the direction buttons and the red green should change 

the second address should be 61 to control the amber 

the traintech point controllers work in a similar fashion wire to the track press the teach button choose your address press direction arrows .job done 

what you pay for imo is the simplicity of the programming method , done and dusted in minutes .

In principle, the TrainTech DS range of signals use the same programming technique.

First of all decide on an address you want to give the signal. As you have a Select, this needs to be in the 61 to 99 address range [ I would avoid starting at address 60 for the reasons given in the edit at the bottom of the reply ]. For the purpose of this reply, let's assume address 61. Because the DS3 is a triple aspect signal, two addresses are required with the second address being the next one in the range (62). Dual aspect DS signals only have one address that needs to be set and used.

Fit your DS3 signal to the DCC track as per the enclosed instructions with the signal and the green lamp should light.