Updating Elite Firmware

Lt Cmdr Datas Cat

Greetings. I am a keen RC modeller flying RC Helis. Not much point here you say but I just love anything scale. My wife has been badgering me to get my old Dublo out of the loft but I fear it is out of date even if it still has a loyal following.

Anyway, last Christmas we exchanged gifts and bought each other a couple of DCC ready locos, a Royal Scot with Pullman Coaches for her and a diesel for me.

I have picked up a working Elite controller as I believe it suits all our future needs. I am also IT literate having worked in IT for longer than I care to remember so am familiar with updating firmware software (and btw, it is always better to upgrade to the newest update available. The only problem is, many organisations do not properly test the upgrade before release so, can introduce new bugs while fixing old ones! Trust me, I am a professional Test Analyst!).

So, sorry for the waffle, my question is, do Hornby advise incremental updating of firmware software or just update from current version on your Elite to the very latest ie go say v1.1, 1.2, 1.3 etc or just v1.1 to v1.44?

On some devices the incremental approach is mandatory. Which is Hornby's preferred method?

TIA

Based upon experience of Hornby upgrading, incremental updates are not needed. The firmware updates are written as complete new data files and replace everything that exists. There are only two PICs in the Elite. The main processor that does everything and a smaller PIC in the USB & Expressnet sub-system.

It has been known for Hornby to issue a buggy firmware upgrade, but usually issue a fix fairly promptly once identified. As long as one has archived the earlier version, the Elite supports firmware downgrades to regress back to the previous version.