DCC Issues

Corsham Ed

Hi all,

i have now set up track with my Select controller, R8241 power track and my DCC loco. As soon as my train on the track, the loco starts to move without any assistance from the controller. Not sure what I’m doing wrong, but I have ensured the wiring from the select to the power track is correct.

also, the select boots up 10,30,03 . Does the select require a firmware upgrade?

apologies for all the question, but I am a complete novice.

Are you really sure that your DCC Loco actually has a DCC Decoder fitted in it.

The box the Loco came in might very well have the 'Hornby Digital Logo' on it, but that does not necessarily mean that a DCC decoder is fitted. The box has to say 'DCC Fitted' on it. If the box says 'DCC Ready' then it is a Digital Loco that is ready to have a decoder of your choice fitted to it.

A 'DCC Ready' Loco is in essence a DC Analogue Loco (even though it may say Digital on the box) and will exhibit the symptoms you have observed and described.

If it is a 'DCC Ready' Loco then DO NOT try and run it on your Select powered track until a DCC Decoder has been fitted to the Loco. To do so, may do permanent damage.

As well as 'moving off without any assistance as you described it' did it also make a high pitched whistling whine. If it did, then it almost definitely does not have a DCC decoder fitted and is a 'DCC Ready' model.

Also, the select boots up 10,30,03 . Does the select require a firmware upgrade?

The initial number 10 in that sequence denotes that the Firmware is the original version 1.0 firmware. The current firmware at time of writing is version 1.5. Personally, I would contact Hornby Customer Care to arrange a firmware upgrade and also download the version 1.5 Select manual to go with it, as the operating instructions for version 1.5 are completely different.