DCC help to set up layout

Guest Chrissaf

I have had model railways for many years British outline.    I still have some of my old stuff Flying Scotsman still in it's box and bits and pieces I would like to build a DCC layout and I have been told you can convert analog to DCC   what about hornby points do you need the use insulating joiners or gaps in the rail any help as I am a beginner when it comes to DCC would be very welcome

What about Hornby points do you need the use insulating joiners or gaps in the rail?

No.

Modifications of this type are only required when using Electrofrog points such as those made by PECO. Hornby do not make Electrofrog points.

Note: Just for completeness of information, insulating rail joiners will be needed if your track layout design incorporates a 'reverse loop' in it. A 'reverse loop' is defined as any track design that allows a loco to take a path route through the layout and arrive back at its starting point but facing in the opposite direction.

You do however need to fit Hornby R8232 DCC Point Clips to Hornby points when using them on a DCC layout (but only when following official Hornby layout installation guidelines). On larger or more complex layouts, many prefer to implement a DCC BUS power distribution system which negates the need for the fitting of DCC Point Clips.

My downloadable PDF will fill in gaps in your knowledge regarding the basic differences between DC and DCC and the use of DCC Point Clips. You can download my PDF here:

https://www.hornby.com/uk-en/forum/track-extension-pack-guide/?p=1

The thread is locked against new posts being added. The download link IS NOT locked. Go back to that page and click the download link I have highlighted in the yellow box below: