Hornby Select

Guest Chrissaf

Welcome Richard

The actual voltage you see depends upon if there is a load on the track and the spec of the meter you use but 15vAC is about right for most meters.

Download the latest manual covering v1.5 from the main site download manuals area and try a reset on your Select - part of the procedure will offer the option to disable loco zero (analogue) running (see -0 on screen).

What you described is DC runaway and as noted if you put a DC loco on track it will protest by buzzing. This is not good for the motor and you are advised never to run a DC loco on a DCC track. Note that you should also disable DC running in the decoder via CV29 but the Select cannot do this until v1.6 which is due out soon.

Hello everyone, I am new to DCC and bought a second hand Select to get started. I had it reflashed to version 1.5 at Hornby

Now there are problems. Is the DC function disabled. If I put a DC loco on the test track, it shoots off to the right at full wallop. Also the voltage across the track is showing 26v AC  I had an idea that it was about 15v. So I have onplugged it.

Just plugged in and tried it again and its 15.8v across the track and the DC loco runs on the knob, so to speak. with a buzz. I dont intend to use the DC function but at least its back to how it should, or is it? 

Any help would be gratefully received, its driving me bonkers, nothing seems to be going right. Toot Toot Richard

Thanks for the information, It is strange that using the same meter, it showed 26v when the problem occured but then 15.8 ( which I know is about right ) about 1/2 hour later. I will now check all connections as I think the Hornby track connector with the push in fittings is a bit rubbish. Also all soldered joints as it seems as if the DCC loco is losing the digital signal intermittently and carries on at whatever speed was set. I have already downloaded the 1.5 manual and as I have never used earlier methods, I should be ok