A question of quality

Decom

I've noticed many brand new locomotives of similar types vary wildly in price. I can see that some of the price goes towards the asthetic of the train, some on how new the design is, however does any of it go towards quality and longevity of the motor? I'm on a bit of a budget so I am personally fine missing out on a bit of asthetic and going for an older design for a much lower price but if it means it will break quiker/ have trouble with it then that might change things. If there are any other differences that i havent considered (very much a newbie here) then I would also be interested in knowing that too. 

Hornby's  RailRoad range is aimed at people who want to model on a budget. The level of detail may be slightly less but the quality of build is up to Hornby's usual high standard. The motor may be slightly lower in performance but is no way significantly inferior, and should give many houts of excellent service. In some ways they may be considered more robust with less to fall off and get lost!

Generally the models are made from tooling superceded from the main range or in some cases taken over from Lima, but good nevertheless.

Hi Decom.  Many of the 50+ years old Triang, Lima, Hornby et al. locos are still running beautifully so this is part of the answer to your query. Locos bought at Very inflated prices will not necessarily give you more enjoyment - and you would be doubly aggrieved if you had trouble with them. So prudent buying is the way to go.