Converting R850/5 to DCC

Pnosferatu

Hi,

I'm a complete novice to all of this. Ive recently converted a little 0-4-0 to DCC with ease, but have just been given an R850/5 Flying Scotsman with a glowing fire box and want to convert that too. I have a decoder and have run it for an hour in both directions on DC to check it runs ok, which it does. 

The problem is that I can't find a guide on how to do this conversion anywhere. I can't even make heads or tails of how the thing is wired up.

Could anyone help?

Yes indeed, a standard decoder or the TTS decoder wouldn't cut the mustard stall current wise.

Unless you want to keep the loco original I would also suggest making a small pcb to fit in the glowing fire box, it is possible to fit a bridge rectifier, resistor and orange or yellow flickering 3mm LED on a tiny pcb in the glowing firebox to replace the old power hungry firebox glow bulb.  The feed wires for this can simply be passed through the hole the old bulb used to sit in and connected to the first function output.  Being an LED means the load on the function output will be a lot less than a bulb.

Forgot to add... If you opt to use the decoders Function outputs you do not need a bridge rectifier or any other rectifier or diode. As a decoders Function output is DC.  You would of course need a series resistor fitted into one lead to the LED.   See below re 12 volt rated LEDs..

You would only need a bridge rectifier if using the DCC power directly to the LED (Ideally use a fast recovery rectifier or make one from four Diodes e.g. UF4001)) and feed the rectifiers input (AC) from the DCC power and its output (DC) to the LED one lead via the series resistor. 

Ohm rating of the resistor will be best at around 1K to 2k2  (1000 to 2200 Ohms) Higher ohm if you want to reduce the brightness of the LED.   A 1/4 (0.25) watt or higher wattage resistor will be fine to use with a single LED.