DCC On/Off Switch

JohnieP

I’m thinking of separating my layout into different power zones to help with fault detection. I’ve spoken to Gaugemaster and they suggested that I use a GM507 switch. I’ve never done any soldering before, but I wondered if a Hornby R047 On/Off lever switch could do the same. I will be using Hornby Isolated fishplates (R920). If the Hornby lever switch is ideal would I just require one power clip to put the wires from the lever switch into in order to operate the isolating section?

If you are into the need for power zones then it would be preferable to have a proper zoned power bus rather than rely upon power clips, although they will do the job to a certain level of reliability.

Learn to solder - it is not difficult, just needs some basic procedural skills and cleanliness of the parts to be soldered, then lots of practice on old bits of rails.

The Hornby R047 is technically equivalent but a far more expensive version of the GM507 switch. But they are both Single Pole Single Throw (SPST on/off) switches.

This means that they will only be able to isolate one rail only of a power zone, which is not very helpful if you intend to use them to help with diagnostics. To completely isolate a power zone you need a DPST (Double Pole Single Throw) switch that can then isolate both rails of a power zone.

Hornby do not make any switches with Double Poles.

GM probably suggested the GM507, because they can be used when you design a DC Analogue layout with switched zones, and you only need to isolate one rail. But you have stated that you want to isolate a power zone for fault diagnostics, thus that would need both rails to be isolated (but I cannot quite see what methodology you would use to undertake such a diagnostic task). Not only that, but you have indicated your layout is DCC not DC, so that makes your switching methodology even more of a strange requirement.