Train will not run on elink plus other issues

Hello All, we are newbies to the Model Rail Hobby, and are experiencing a few problems with running the trains on elink.

We have loaded an evaluation version of Railmaster version 1.68 on a laptop in windows 7 and this works.  We also have loaded an activated Railmaster version 1.7 on a different laptop (this is the one we will continue to use moving forward) but we have had no success in running trains with the version 1.70.  We open the Hornby Icon as usual but once this is open we are unable to view any information in the boxes in the System or Loco tab, they are blacked out (cant see the info info) and we cannot get the trains we have already to run.  Do we need to update this version to 1.70.2 or is there anything else amiss to fix this issue?  Judging by th fact (with us) that 1.68 is ok, how do we get back to this version. All help will be gratefully received as we are complete novices and are lookng forward to enjoying this hobby.

There have been numerous changes to RM between version 1.68 and version 1.70.2

Note that Hornby do not offer downloads of earlier RM versions, so unless you have previously saved the 1.68 installer file you cannot regress back to that revision. Unless someone outside Hornby has a copy (like me). Here is a link for a stable 1.69.2 version (note you will have to unzip the downloaded file to extract the installer).

https://btcloud.bt.com/web/app/share/invite/gRieaFOBJM

Before continuing further. Please review the 'postscript' near the bottom of this reply.

If your later version is definitely version 1.70 and not version 1.70.2 be aware that version 1.70 had problems communicating with the attached controllers from its very release. Hence why it was quickly upgraded to version 1.70.2. Version 1.70 must be replaced with the latest version 1.70.2 as the initial starting point.