Digital control of points

MarcB

Hi,

I'm a novice currently building a layout using trains from my childhood, 40 yrs ago.

The trains are clearly analogue, and am using analogue controllers.

The layout has 14 points, and I'm wondering if I can use a seperate Digital controller for these points, and other accessories i.e. lights, etc. 

If so what controller and other Hornby equipment is required ?

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

What kind of lights?......signalling lights or general layout lighting such as platform / street lighting and/or building interiors.

To be frank and brutally honest I really can't see any benefit, neither practical or financial for using DCC just to control points and signalling lights.....without including the locos.

Unless you go computer controlled, you're going to spend so much time faffing around remembering and selecting the appropriate DCC address for a particular accessory (whether that is a point or a signal) that in the time taken to operate one of those through DCC, you could set up a whole route through multiple points and signals using traditional analogue electrical switches.

You could build a very comprehensive analogue point and signal control system for a fraction of the cost of doing it digitally via DCC.

If your original question related to generic layout lighting, then I would always recommend doing that separately and not via DCC control.

It is the control of the locos where DCC comes into its own, not the points and accessories (IMHO)........it can do points and signals but not efficiently, unless under computerised programmed control.

TIP: As this is your very first post, just be aware that the 'Blue Button with the White Arrow' is not a 'Reply to this post' button. If you want to reply to any of the posts, scroll down and write your reply in the reply text box at the bottom of the page and click the Green 'Reply' button.

Hi