TTS Loco issue or clueless operator?

Minimitch23

Evening all. I'm having some issues with my TTS Mallard (R3395TTS) which I had yesterday. Sometimes when I bring it to a stop I am unable to get it started again for a while, and any sounds which are currently running stay on and won't switch off, and any new sounds I try and play won't start. Is this an issue with my loco and I should send it back to the shop I had it from, or am I doing something wrong? I'm using a Hornby Select with firmware 1.5 if that helps. I don't think it's an issue with the controller because it the Somerset Belle it came with is running with no issues at all.

Thanks for any advice, I'm pretty new to the hobby as a whole and only got the digital stuff yesterday 

....any sounds which are currently running stay on and won't switch off, and any new sounds I try and play won't start.

In general with sound equipped locos, there are instances where there are delays in responding to control commands.

TTS in particular only has 2 sound channels (tracks), thus one of the tracks has to clear before it can play another sound. Some sounds may run for a significant number of seconds before the sound sequence ends naturally. With more expensive sound decoders such as ESU ones. There are far more than 2 tracks, thus sounds can be multi-layered and play concurrently, whereas the 2 track limitation on TTS means the the sounds have to be queued up to play sequentially.

One of the two tracks will always be reserved / used by the engine running sound. Thus only one track is left to play the spot (play once or loop) sounds. When you turn off a 'loop sound' the time before it actually stops playing will depend where in the sound loop you gave it the 'switch off' command. The sound may have to complete a full loop before it stops and releases the track for another sound to be played.