Track power failure / short circuit? [DCC layout]

Guest Chrissaf

Hornby Standard DCC controller......

Please be specific........what Hornby DCC controller model?......there is no DCC controller that is considered as being a 'standard' one.

....used a multimeter on the tracks and they're live....

Please specify the voltage that you measured? and confirm that the meter was on the AC Voltage scale?

TIP: As this is your very first post, just be aware that the 'Blue Button with the White Arrow' is not a 'Reply to this post' button. If you want to reply to any of the posts, scroll down and write your reply in the reply text box at the bottom of the page and click the Green 'Reply' button.

See also – further TIPs on how to get the best user experience from this forum.

https://www.hornby.com/uk-en/forum/tips-on-using-the-forum/

Hi folks,

I'm fairly new to model railways but i've built a DCC layout which was working perfectly until this morning.

I have two ovals of track linked by points and this morning I had a derailment with a loco falling over both tracks and now nothing works.

I understand this might be a short circuit but nothing I do has any effect. I've disconnected the power (Hornby Standard DCC controller and re-started, used a multimeter on the tracks and they're live, tried different locos and everthing is dead, even the little lights on the buffer stops.

I've checked the track for debris and cleaned it all and I'm now at a loss to see the problem, I'ld be grateful for any suggestions.

Regards

Stu

Hi Chris, thanks for your prompt reply, I'm using the Select DCC controller and I've checked the track using the AC voltage function of the multimeter - I'm not familiar with  multimeters but each piece of track shows a voltage of an average of 5 (volts?)

A DCC track should be showing about 16v AC.

As you only have 5v, I'd suggest the controller is 'testing' for a short-circuit, and not fully starting up because there is one somewhere.