New To DCC... "I'm so confused???"

Connor8674

I'm new to dcc, i have switched from dc to dcc.

I have purchased the Hornby select and i have multiple dcc locos which i seem to have under control but im not sure about "wiring". I have watched multiple youtube videos which say i have to wire all of the track and use extra power suplies, my layout is built in a 10"x6" shed where there are 2 loops and a few spurs off for for shunting.

Do i need to do this or not, and can my single controller power both lines and a small fiddle yard / terminus station ???

For a start - very importantly - you MUST only have ONE DCC controller connected directly to your track. You can have an additional controller(s) linked by way of a special cable to the master as a slave. Only the master controller is powered. The slave(s) take their power from the master. If you only have one controller then that is all you need.

To get the benefits of DCC - i.e. being able to control any loco anywhere on the track the whole track must be made live. If previously wired for DC this can often be simply done by switching ON all of your isolation switches. In your case of a couple of loops and some sidings then the use of Hornby DCC point clips may be enough. For total reliabiltiy you may wish to install a power bus - essentially a pair of heavy wires connected to your controller and each piece of track connected by droppers to those bus wires.

If your DC power is supplied to each loop by use of power clips or power track or link cables then these will have a capacitor inside which must be removed when these connections are used for DCC as otherwise the signal will be corrupted and loss of control is likely. See the getting started guide in the sticky post at the top of the General Discussion forum for more details on how to connect your track.