Unable to setup 'stepped' speed option on Loco [Select DCC]

Guest Chrissaf

Hi...im new to DCC and have purchased a preowned Hornby R3170 Adderley Hall with a Decoder already fitted and has been given Loco chip code 4. The system does recognise Loco code 4 using the Select Unit and it works both forward and backwards at whatever speed the Select Dial is set to on this Loco.

My problem is when i perform the Select process for Acceleration and Deceleration Control options on this Loco (code 4) all appears to be actioned correcly in the process but the Loco does NOT perform either of the 'stepped' acceleration or deceleration operations that I have coded to Loco 4. Ive tried many times but to no avail. Please advise in simple terms of what im doing wrong or how to completely reset Loco 4 thru the Select controller to strt again..

We need to know what firmware version your Select is. The firmware version is the very first number to briefly appear on screen during the Select power up sequence. This number is expected to be between 10 & 20.

In order to reset a decoder you have to write a value of 8 to CV8, but this is impossible to do on any Select who's firmware number is less than 16.

The Select at any firmware revison cannot read a CV. If it could, we would ask you to read the values of CV7 & CV8 and that would tell us the brand of the decoder that is fitted. It is probably very unlikely, but you might possibly have a decoder fitted for which CV3 & CV4 (CVs for acc & dec) are not adjustable.

TIP: As a newbie poster on the forum, just be aware that the 'Blue Button with the White Arrow' is not a 'Reply to this post' button. If you want to reply to any of the posts, scroll down and write your reply in the reply text box at the bottom of the page and click the Green 'Reply' button.

See also – further TIPs on how to get the best user experience from this forum.

https://www.hornby.com/uk-en/forum/tips-on-using-the-forum/