DCC how tracks can I operate at once

Stus trains

Hi folks I'm kind of new to the whole DCC world and I'm playing to get the DCC SELECT I have one question how many tracks can I operate simultaneously with that controller. My current layout is 2 up lines with 2 down lines. 

If anyone can please help it would be very much appreciated as people I've asked just give the same answer as to how many locos I can operate

Thanks Stu's trains

The Select Controller comes with a 1A Power Supply Unit and is generally considered suitable for up to 4 Loco's, although this may reduce if they are large or older models that take more current. 

At the end of the day, it depends how many Loco's you yourself can control, within the limit of your Select Controller.

The answer you get will always be the same, because that answer that others are giving you is the correct answer.

With DCC, it has got absolutely nothing to do with how many tracks (let's call them loops) you have. You could have 100 loops ... it makes no odds. The track itself does not consume power, barring losses due to resistance.

The question is how many locomotives can I power when limited to the 1 amp power supply that comes as standard with a Hornby Select controller.

The answer to that is ... it depends ... it depends upon whether the whole of the 1 amp is available for powering locomotives. Anything that connects to the DCC track for power will reduce the power available for locomotives. The Select itself will consume some of the 1 amp current (power). Any Accessory Decoders you have for points will consume some power. If you have passenger coaches with internal lighting, they will consume power too.

So all of these things need to be taken into account when deciding how many locomotives is a reasonable number for a Select to operate concurrently. Typically, this will be three or four locomotives.