Dcc Select (R8213) Tripping out on all locos

TwoSecondJoe

Hi guys 

I need some advice, my Hornby DCC select controller keeps tripping out on my class 47 TTS sound Loco. It happens Instantly as soon as a train goes on the track and will just keep resetting over and over. I have replaced the DCC sound decoder and checked all the connections on the loco with no results. unfortunately I only own one DCC loco as I'm just starting out So I can't test any over locos. any advice? 

Many thanks 

Will the loco wheels turn if you connect a PP9 9 volt battery across the wheels with the pickups on them?

If the wheels turn, then it looks as if your Select power pack is faulty .... I am assuming that it is the default 1 amp PSU which has a proven fault history. If the 1 amp PSU can not provide the amount of current being drawn, then it enters protection mode by reducing the voltage output. This causes the Select to enter into the observed constant 'reboot' loop until such time as the current load drops below the PSU trigger value. Some faulty 1 amp PSUs have been proven to enter this 'protection' state when the current trigger value has for some reason become too low due to a fault in the PSU.

However, if the wheels on the loco do not turn with a 9 volt battery, this does not provide conclusive proof that the loco is faulty, it may just be that 'DC Operation' is turned off in the TTS decoder.

You really need access to a multimeter in order to diagnose exactly what is faulty by measuring the current being drawn by the loco. Cheap multimeters can be purchased from eBay for less than £8 delivered. With DCC you use the AC current measurement feature on a multimeter. If the loco is only drawing about 100 to 180mA, yet the Select is still in a constant 'reboot' cycle, then that would indicate the PSU as being faulty. If the loco is drawing 500mA or more, then that would indicate that the issue is still in the loco even though you have replaced the decoder.