Getting Started with new equipment

Bob C

Hello Folks,

I am brand new to model railways and Hornby DCC. I have purchased a track based on the Hornby catalogue plus a Select controller and two steam locos which are labelled DCC ready. Just received them. I have 1 x Standard Class 4 Steam loco with tender and 1 x Royal Scot/Patriot Class loco with tender.

I have placed one of the locos onto the track and, switching on the controller, I can hear a whirring sound from the loco but it does not move when I rotate the speed control. I have 14.8V with no loco on the track and 14.4V when I put the loco on. I have address 03 showing on the screen. I get the same thing with both locos in either direction. I have broken it down to one peice of track connected to the Select controller but no movement and the same voltage readings as above. I am using the Hornby power connector onto the track. I have checked and double checked the connections to the track.

So, my question is. What am I doing wrong? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

When it states DCC ready does this mean the decoder is already fitted? I can't find one in the box.

Bob C

Hi Bob

You will receive a very detailed answer soon, but DCC Ready means you need to install a decoder - and they don't come in the sets. Locomotives come in three categories Analogue, DCC Ready and DCC Fitted. I hope that is self explanatory. The instructions with the loco will show you how to install the decoder - I am not familiar with your two loco's (I don't own either), so the decoder may go into the loco or it maybe the tender. I would have thought that in both cases the Hornby R8249 decoder would suffice, but again further information will follow. As you loco's are currently in analogue form,  I do not think that the Select will operate them. BB