Converting from DC to DCC

Skier

Hi

I am about to take the plunge and convert my layout from DC to DCC.  I have chosen to use the Hornby Elite controller for this.

In terms of the conversion I am about to order the Elite, point clips, decoders and a DCC power track.  

Now I am totally new to DCC - in terms of the conversion is it really as simple of removing all the DC controllers, inserting the DCC power track, inserting point clips on each point and adding the decoder to my loco and then programming it?  I am running quite a simple circuit which is 9ft x 6ft and comprises of three loops with curved points connecting the outer and middle circuits and and a RH point linking to the inner circuit.  Outer and inner circuits have sidings branching off them for loco and wagon / coach storage.

One thought I had was - is one feed from the controller sufficient here or do I need to add additional power clips and wires to link the three loops together?

Any advise would be gratefully received.

Regards

Have a read of Chapter 6 of my downloadable 'Getting Started' PDF document. This will answer most questions.

If you use the DCC point clips, then you won't need to also wire your loops together ... unless the loops are currently isolated using insulating track joiners at the loop cross-over points.

My document can be downloaded from the 2nd sticky post down located at the top of the 'General Discussion' forum index page.

Essentially you have it as described.

In practice rather than rely totally on point clips to distribute power from one power track connection you should consider either soldering link wires between loops - matching rail to rail obviously or you can use two more power tracks or even link wires although these latter items are not so reliable and also need the capacitors removed for DCC use.