Reset chip on Diesel

Hi everyone, I'm new to cv values and resetting chips on Diesels. I have been using railmaster for about a year now and have written deceleration / acceleration values but thats about it. My Diesel, a Dapol class 26, has stopped working two days ago and all the cv values had disappeared. I tried writing the values again but it keeps coming up " error repeating", sometimes it works most often it doesn't. My programming track works fine as I have tested it with another Diesel.

What are my next steps?

Thanks in advance

Clean the wheels of the loco [particularly where any pickups touch them] and check the pickups [if the loco uses them] for correct alignment and touching pressure.

Your reported observations seem to indicate that the electrical path between the track rails and the decoder are intermittent.

Possibly a broken wire inside the loco that is just touching and giving intermittent connections.

Hi, i have reset the decoder and tried again.  It goes through the first 20 or so instructions and always seems to get stuck on the re-mapping section, keeps coming up error-repeating and can not verify after a few goes. I'm no experienced enough to open her up and know what to look for.

Help please!

Is it identifying your decoder correctly - at CVs 7 and 8. If not, before you start reading simply double click CV 7 and pick your decoder from the list. If its not listed then its not in the RM database and RM will not know which CVs to read so it picks them all and likely fails.

This of course does not stop you writing new values to the decloder for any supported CV using the pencil icon not the tick which is the read instruction.

Use the range setting at the top right of the screen to limit the range to read to just the main important ones. Say CV1 to CV15 for example. Then it won't ever reach the problematic ones and stall.