Railmaster not seeing elite

I have not used my layout for a significant period. I set up after a while mothballed and updated Railmaster (now at 1.74) - done ok. I have DDC and DC layouts. DCC has railmaster with elite (and select connected to elite normally). Two issues i need help with please:

1) Device Manager is seeing the USB on COM4 but Railmaster says Elite not connected when i activate Railmaster?

/media/tinymce_upload/51c9708700a036cc287a3a2ea6345939.jpg

/media/tinymce_upload/61662900610897108f22593276c25890.jpg

/media/tinymce_upload/2451896a6e73cd14d6bc091c8f0bacc6.jpg

2)I then wanted to plug the elite in to update it as it is still on v1.3. I have also tried updating the firmware on the elite but again the USB sees but the update does not? COM4 is there but when i press download it shows and IO exception - "Error in open the port".

/media/tinymce_upload/859b3557c707cbc70a300d5b33065a50.jpg

I am no expert and having spent hours trying and reviewing various sites am at a loss as to what is wrong in both caeses? My PC has updated significantly since i last used my layout, including uplifting to Windows 10. Can anyone assist please?

Thank you for the images, that has allowed me to identify exactly what your two issues are.

Issue 1.

Your 'railmaster.ini' file is corrupted and missing vital entries and needs to be regenerated. There should be about 40 lines populating your .INI file and three quarters of them are missing including lines crucial to controller communications.

To regenerate the .INI file, closely follow these documented steps:

1. Download the Railmaster 1.74 installer from the link at the top of the RailMaster forum. I note that you have installed 1.74 already, but this process below requires you to run the installer again.
  2. Close down RailMaster so that it is not running.