Crankpin sparks?

I'm relatively new to the model railroading scene, and just today got my first loco, coaches and track to work. I noticed that my loco (a second hand Hornby railroad Tornado) would produce visible electrical sparks from the leftside crankpin above speeds of 45. Would anyone be able to help me understand why?

Would anyone be able to help me understand why?

Electric DC motors can technically do two things. The turn when a voltage is applied across them, but they can also act like a dynamo and generate a voltage when physically turned. Thus when a DC motor is turning under power it is also generating a voltage output at exactly the same time. This can be referred to as the Back EMF. Due to the nature of 'Inductors' [the coil of a motor is an inductor] the EMF voltages generated can be much higher values than the 0-12 volts DC applied to the track to operate the loco. Thus sparks can easily be generated when the electrical path from the track to the motor has very tiny micro breaks in the circuit. Loose parts or more commonly dirt on electrical contact surfaces create these micro breaks. These micro breaks are not usually long enough to prevent the motor from turning and bringing the loco to a stop, but the micros breaks have such small physical air gaps that the high voltage generated EMFs are sufficiently high enough to jump the gap and a visible spark is observed. These sparks can generate radio frequency noise to be emitted from the loco and is the reason that DC Analogue track power connectors have 'radio frequency' noise suppression capacitors in them.