RailMaster not recognising e-Link

Newbie here - been nibbling away trying to get RailMaster to recognize the e-Link for months - still haven't been able to enjoy the trainset we bought last year!!

I can summarize current situation as:

RailMaster is installed, updated to 1.74 and the .ini file amended

The e-link is being recognized in the Windows 10 Device Manager as 'USB Serial Port (COM3)', though it is a little unstable (sometimes not recognized, sometimes it is), but lets assume this is indeed recognized. I've set the Baud rate on both RailMaster and the COM3 port on the laptop to 115200.

I've also got Avast running, where I have also allowed All connections to RailMaster.exe in its application settings. By default, Windows firewall is disabled by Avast, so shouldn't be an issue.

So with all of the above, within RailMaster 'System Settings', the 'Control A: Hornby eLink' remains in pink colour, which is indicating it is not able to identify the eLink.

The only other comment that could be helpful is that I have also downloaded the 'Elite v1.45 Update' (the firmware update) directly onto my laptop. (I do not have an Elite, but understand this firmware update is same for the eLink). When I double click on that .exe file, (again sometimes it is unstable, but others is recognized), I choose the correct Port and Type 3 computer (high spec laptop), a pop-up box appears stating 'IOException. Error in open the Port!'. This feels a little at odds with the Device Manager, as it appears in Windows that the eLink is being recognized.

Really appreciate any support from the community! I've bought this Hornby Majestic train set for my little boy (and me :) ), but am dead in the water with it so far..

Many thanks in advance all!!!

Regards - Ian.

Re the Elite firmware. This is not the same as eLInk firmware.

You are getting confused with drivers used by Windows for these two controllers which are the same, but nothing to do with firmware.