Anyone Converted Airfix N2 To DCC

Smudge617

Hi Everyone

I have an Airfix N2 Loco which I would like to convert, but as they're not the X03/4 or Ringfield style motors, I have no experience as to the best way to achieve this. (One contact is via the top cap from the weight, the second contact is through a type of prong at the bottom on the other side of the chassis). Has anyone converted one before and what is the best way?

Hi Chris, I don’t have details of this loco to hand, but let me give you the principles to be followed for conversion as this may help:

• you must connect to track power on both rails.
  • in general, this is done via pickups in contact with the wheels or via the chassis through a wheel and its axle. More modern Hornby locos use pickups on each side. Older locos often use pickups on one side and a wheel/axle/chassis on the other
  • there must be no connection between the power pickup from the rails and the motor. Any such connection will blow a decoder instantly.
  • where one side of the power comes via the chassis, some form of isolation between power and the motor will be needed. This may be achieved simply (think X04 and insulating both sides of the brush retainer spring) or may be more complex (think Ringfield where the LH brush retainer spring must be isolated using nylon screws etc)
  • once isolated, remove all wires connecting from pickups to the motor (and discard any suppression capacitors etc).
  • now connect track pickups to decoder red and black wires (doesn’t matter which way around) and decoder orange and grey to the motor (if these are wrong way around, the loco will run the opposite way to expected, fixed by reversing the connections)

That’s all there is to it. And note that part of this may be achieved by installing a decoder socket rather than direct soldering of the decoder into the loco.

Trust this helps. Please come back with any specifics for the N2, including photos if possible.