Railcar decoder installation

Roger-1227646

Hi there, I was wondering if there was anyone who could offer advice / help please.

I have an old Hornby Railcar R369 (I believe) and I want to install a decoder chip but I am unsure of the connections I should use. This is the first time I have ever done this do I am a complete novice.

I've included a couple of photos which may help.

Many thanks

forum_image_61d992d8836f8.png.86fc6ae3b0e9bbd3dd77632ce1afbaba.png

forum_image_61d992da77cb1.thumb.png.eb72418b90a555164a0285be83b5588d.png

Roger, that looks like the back of a Ringfield motor [needs confirming by others], if so these can be converted to DCC, but the conversion is not straight forward and there are extra hoops to jump through to do it correctly.

Others are likely to know this model and give targeted advice, but in the meantime read on [take particular note of any replies made by member "Flashbang". FB is 'Brian Lambert' referenced further below].

There are different variants of a Ringfield motor and each variant has its own conversion methodology. So first thing that is needed is to identify the type you have (assuming I am correct and it is a Ringfield).

To do this and see documentaion with regard the conversion method. Navigate to the "General Discussion" forum. Open the sticky thread at the top titled "Useful Links". Navigate to and follow the link to "Brian Lambert's Decoder Installation" note the comment about scrolling down the page to the Ringfield section.

One of my moderator colleagues is very likely in due course to leave a reply asking you to change your forum ID from "Roger" to something unique [we have a lot of Rogers on the forum]. So when you see it, please do follow the 'How To' guidance he gives in it.