Points motor and Decoder problem

Lidders46

Hi All

I am new to model tracks, decide to start late in life!!

I spend all my working years in electronics, so with small layout using Trackmat plan 8217 and DCC Select Digital and I'm on my way.

Track down on ballast running a small engine ok! 

So I thought I'd fit point motor to the layout only have 7 point positions.

Started with one point motor, I have a digital points decode R8247, fitted the power clip into the rails for Track A & B connection.

I have bought the Hornby P9300W 4A supply as the R8014 instructions' advices the PSU in the Select is not man enough for point motor R8014

I have checked my points wiring via the 15Vdc Aux output on the Select and the pointers motor snaps nicely into each position.

The problem I'm experiencing is that I program LA 61 select on my Select and it duly flashes red 3 times not 7 as the manual. ( Everything I select for the first time flashes red 3 times- hope that's results of software update?)

Then when I type 61 select and press an arrow key, P5 or P6 appears, but only a faint or faint chatter from the points motor.

To me what's happening is power is lacking via the Points decoder and the power clip, but is that the answer.

I'm hoping get an answer and help from the long modellers on the forum

Please can anybody help??

Best regards

David

Sorry for any missed spelling or grammar J

First of all thank you for the level of detail in your post, something we see too little of. It really helps to target a resolution to your issue.

Your reference to chatter indicates that your Select firmware might be at revision 1.1. This Select firmware version has a bug which damages the R8247 and causes the chatter on port 1. Port 1 then becomes permanently damaged, but ports 2 to 4 usually remain operational. Until this is resolved, you must disconnect your R8247 to prevent further damage.