Hornby DCC Select Walkabout Product Code: R8235

GordonBigBoy

Complete beginner here living overseas and reliant on my annual trip back to UK to collect all things 00. Waiting in UK for my collection in September is a Mixed Freight DCC Set

Product Code: R1126. I am envisaging quite a large layout eventually. I

have looked at the Select Walkabout and it looks identical to the 'Select' controller - is this the case?

Is there any advantage in me buying The Cornishman Digital Train Set

Product Code: R1160 (soon to be sub £200) which has a DCC select included?

Will this give me more power for my layout (an extra power supply?) and can the additional 'select' in the Cornishman set be utilised as a 'Select Walkabout'? Thanks for any advice.

Hi Gordon BB,

To start to answer your questions, you can only connect 1 DCC controller to any one layout at the one time. You can't use a 2nd controller to boost the power of the one you already have connected.

To learn more about the Select (and

the Elite), you might download their manuals from this site at https://www.hornby.com/downloads/digital-instruction-manuals/

A Select Walkabout is just a normal Select but connected either to another Select or an Elite only, not to mains power and the track

- see more detail at page 20 of the Select manual.

To boost the power from a Select so that you can run more than 3 locos at once, you need to replace its 1 amp power supply with the 4 amp type P9300. However, I'd seriously consider upgrading to an Elite

rather than do that (the Elite comes eith a 4 amp supply) - then you can use the Select as a Walkabout that someone else can operate, or it gives you the ability to have control over 3 locos at the one time (1 from the Select and 2 from the Elite).

So having

bought the Mixed Freight and now having a Select, I wouldn't buy the Cornishman just to get another Select, only if you want the train and the extra track.