Triang Class 31 R357 DCC

Chris-K

Hi, can anyone help I'm just getting into DCC and I have a old triang R357 class 31 train I really want to be able to run on dcc, I have found some info on here from someone previously asking about this but wondered if anyone had any photos they could share of the dcc on this kind of motor to give me some help as to what I need to solder where etc really would appreciate anyone's help, I'm looking at using a R8249 decoder

Thanks, Chris

These are not the easiest motors to convert and IMHO not worth the effort.

Thanks for replying, is there a modern version of this with dcc or dcc ready or even one I could put the original triang body on if anyone knows if that might be the way forward, it would have just been nice to run the original that was all

Thanks

I think this is the loco in question.

There are several newer variants of the Class 31, both simple single power bogie Railroad spec and the better detailed much heavier all wheel drive chassis. Both DC-Ready meaning they have a socket for your 8-pin decoder.

forum_image_620d580b47b93.thumb.png.93f0b8193133ced75f0c27b705a2aa04.png

Outwith my remit to advise as I have never had one, but any loco can be converted using the basic principle of electrically isolating the motor brushes from the wheel pickups.

How that could be done with this motor I have no idea but there are folk on here who will know, hopefully they will be dropping in soon.

Whilst you are waiting for a reply you may wish to have a look at the sticky post giving important tips for new posters in the General section of the forum.