Collection of Views - for and against the latest version of RailMaster

Newbie here to RM who is considering purchase. I have looked through the thread over the past week; it is quite difficult to gauge full sentiment of users, I see some unhappy, maybe more than the content users? so I am hoping this thread might encourage

a concise place to post the good, the bad and the ugly of RailMaster from the experienced users here.

Please I am only looking for constructive posts - not a drawn out diatribe from those that don't really know.

I am soon to invest in the Elite

with Hornby points & Accessory decoders etc etc. My laptop runs Win 7 64 bit. So......

What is good

What is bad

What limitations are there

Current known bugs

When is the next version due? Should I wait?

Many thanks if you can help.

What is good

Low cost entry to computer control

Makes the Elite a more powerful controller

Easy to operate

Easy to setup

What is bad

Documentation needs more work and example

Limitations

No sensors yet implemented.

Railmaster doesn't know 'where' the trains are so timings get out of sync very quickly.

Current known bugs - Don't know.

Next version - don't know, but they seem to be pretty active at relaseing new bits and have stated that they will have some sensor

feedback to the programme by 2013

Should I wait.

No - its worth it for the non geek

I am not a RM user and have only had a it of a play with the demo.

My observation is that RM looks to be an easy to use system of moderate capability.

The answer to your questions I think depends on what you want to do and what your technical

capabilities/interests are.

if you lean to techno geek the jmri is fantastic with almost unlimited capabilities. it is free but you will spend time setting up and/or writing scripts. This is what I use.

if the idea of techo stuff puts you to