Point motors and other accesories with 'select' controller

LukiP

I'm fairly new to railway moddeling and am looking into the select dcc controller. It sounds really good to me and I fully understand how to program locomotives but I'm very confused about point motors and accesories... :( I've read bits and pieces from

various web sites and dont understand if i need the decoder or any thing like that... I wiuld be very greatful for any help any one could give me. Thx.

Hi

You have two options...

One is to use DCC for everything. Then you will need a Point Accessory Decoder (PAD) Hornby part R8247. This connects to the DCC system via the rails or a DCC bus pair of wires if a bus is used. The Hornby PAD has four

separate outputs so four solenoid motors can be fed. In fact you can connect two motors to one output where a cross-over pair of points are to be moved together.

The Select as supplied with the 1.0Amp power supply really inst up to operating a layout and

PADs too. You can replace the power supply unit with the 4.0Amp version and this will be better. Hornby part P9300. https://www.hornby.com/shop/digital/p9300-digital-15v-4-amp-transformer/

The other alternative is to use the Select as the DCC loco control

and operate all the points by conventional (analogue) 16 volts ac feed from a totally separate power supply. Each point is then worked by a R044 black passing contact lever or a sprung top centre off toggle switch

To note: You mention you are conversant

with programming locos. Do be aware the Select cannot alter CVs other than the few its pre programmed to do - Address number 1 to 59. Normal direction of travel. Acceleration and deceleration rates. If you wish to adjust CVs to obtain the best performance

from your locos, then you will need the Elite or other DCC system tyhast capable of writing CVs.

Flashbang said:

Hi
You have two options...