Dcc hornby elite points programming

Azal

Hi all

I'm having a problem with programming my points. Having read the instructions for my elite controller and watching various you tube videos I'm still miserably failing.

Firstly, do I treat points the same as locos ie, when programming

I assume that I have both leads in the prog function on the back of the elite. Then what I do is run the other end into the a and b inlet of a point decoder box and try to programme it directly. I then follow the instructions in the book.

However, this

doesn't seem to work and the instruction manual is not clear as to where I should be putting the cables.

P.s. I'm a real novice in this dcc business so feel free to treat me like one in your replies.

P.p.s. it's a 160 sq foot lay out with 14

point box decodes so quite a few points to programme.

Thanks

Why do you think it hasn't worked? Is it because of a message displayed on the Elite when programming the decoder, or does the decoder then not respond to the addresses you have programmed? Could you tell us what values you are programming and the addresses

you expect?

Ray

St1ngr4y said:

Why do you think it hasn't worked? Is it because of a message displayed on the Elite when programming the decoder, or does the decoder then not respond to the addresses you have programmed? Could you tell us what values you

are programming and the addresses you expect?

Ray

No I don't get any message on the elite, in fact it responds as it says in the manual with the red flashing led, which, makes me think I've programmed it correctly. (Provided the leads

I've connected are in the right place, which I'm not sure about).

When I get to programme the address I have used 201, with the first block of four being coded 001. ( I assume then the other 3 are automatically assigned numbers 2-3.

When I then

attempt to actually activate the programmed point nothing happens.

Very frustrating!