DCC power problems

Acky053

Hi , I am a complete novice at model railway but trying to get into it in a big way. I have done 3 different track layouts and all worked ok but on my final one when i change any of the outer track to get the train running on the inside track the controller

dies on me ,,,,the display goes funny and the train stops . I reset the points and everything is ok. I am using Select unit, have put the little shorts on all the points (removed them still same problem). THe track was running ok but then I added a new set

of points and a couple of pieces of extra track and now I have this power problem. I have checked for any possible shorts but it seems the inner track and outer track are at different polarities....how can this be with AC

Careful about your use of polarity here poliss as I ended up in an argument about it a while ago. However, I agree with you that polarity is still a useful concept for DCC, a view support by a reference I quoted last time.

But if we wanted to be

strictly accurate, the AC issue is actually phase. We can have 2 AC signals which have the same voltage and current but are out of phase with each other. If we imagine the sinusoidal voltage waveform that is AC, 2 signals will be out of phase if at the time

one is going from positive to negative, the other is doing the opposite and going from negative to positive. If we were to connect these 2 together, we effectively have a short circuit.

Then a DCC signal isn't a conventional AC waveform, rather it

is a train of pulses, and those pulses are pulse width modulated to carry the DCC signal. Then again, pulses are only a lot sinusoidal signals added together anyway. Ask M Fourier if you don't believe me.

Sorry if that is clear as mud to some. I'm

actually using some beyond basic maths and electrical engineering concepts in what I have said. But then DCC is a beyond basic electrical engineering concept itself.