Newby to DCC - need some help understanding DCC scale speeds 'out of the box'.

MikeC176

Good evening to you all,

I am new to the DCC scene and need some help understanding speeds that DCC locos run at please.

I have a Win7 laptop running RailMaster, and an ELink interface.

I have purchased a selection of new locos over

he past 3 weeks or so, including a R2224 LMS Fowler 2-6-4T Class 4P Locomotive '2311', R2959 BR 2-6-4T Thompson L1 67717, R2966 BR 4-6-2 Class A3 'Brown Jack' and R2920X LNER 4-6-0 Class B17/1 'Sandringham'.

All locomotives have been fitted with the

Hornby R8249 Decoder (the R2920X being factory fitted of course) and have only had adjustments to the Primary Address field.

I am looking at 'double heading' some of these locos to run at equal distances from each other on my loop of track however their

speeds appear all over the place. I can fully appreciate that different gearing and wheel circumferences will produce different speeds and I can see this with the R2224 Fowler and the R2959 Thompson, but they are close - a couple of MPH speed adjustment on

the RailMaster speed controller (without double heading them) and they are running around the track at equal distances from each other and maintaining it very well.

My biggest confusion comes with the R2920X B17 and the R2966 A3, both have similar size

wheels but set the B17 at 40mph and the A3 needs to run at 25mph to maintain equal distance between them.

From what I can see, both locos have the same CV settings apart from the Primary Address. As my B17 is 'DCC Fitted' by Hornby do they set other

parameters on it at the factory?

I have also read somewhere that RailMaster have some set parameters that it writes to the locos from its inbuilt Hornby inventory and therefore the matter of speed should be automatically resolved?

Any help will be

much appreciated.

I doubt your factory fitted loco comes with other than the default settings in the decoder.