Railmaster not reading in loco CV values

I am new to DCC and Railmaster; model trains in fact... I have managed to connect Elink and install the software successfully but having trouble getting a non Hornby locomotive to run. When I place Hornby loco on program track and read-in decoder information

it provides the values for each CV but when I place the other loco on program track it only reads in the CV's but values are set to 255. I spent over an hour entering them all manually (over 200 of them), using the information that came with the loco's technical

manual but for some reason Railmaster didn't save them. When loco failed to work I went back in to select the same loco and click the get information icon they were still all set to 255. When I place this loco on the main track it just sits there. I can't

get it to make any sounds or move. Just the front light is illuminated. As soon as I place the GWR loco that came with my DCC Western Master train set it works right away. Any help most appreciated.

Buschy said:

...I spent over an hour entering them all manually (over 200 of them), using the information that came with the loco's technical manual but for some reason Railmaster didn't save them

You do not need to write

all the CV's manually, they will be set to a defualt value to start with which should enable operation through the loco base address "3". I suggest;

1) Clean your programming track and loco wheels, checking all wires are secure.
2) Reset the non-hornby

loco by writing 8 to CV8.

Now, try reading CV1, hopefully it comes back as "3".

Then put it onto the main track and see if it works by controlling it with loco address 3.

You can then move onto changing the address to your preferred loco

address once everything is working. ie by changing CV1, but nothing else.

Finally, I'm assuming you can read the CV's on your Hornby loco?