R070 Turntable

A Law

Hello all. I'm new to model railway forums, but reading through it seems that you have all the answers! I've just purchased the above TT and converted it to DCC. It's not yet fitted to the layout but connected to check that my soldering was ok. Looks like it was as the TT will rotate ok but only seems to move from one outlet to another and it will only do this if I "log on" to the decoder again for it to move, but only to the next outlet. As I'm only using the TT to turn the loco's through 180 deg this operation is going to be a real pain! Is this the way it's supposed to work? I'm using a NCE Power Cab controller and the lower line of the display shows No. 1. is this related to my problem. Hoping you can help.

Andy

Hi, Andrew and welcome to the forum. Your question, if i understand it, is you want the turntable in one movement to go 180 degrees. I dont think, it will do that. I have two, a hornby the same as yours on DC, and a Frestechci, on DCC. My hornby one when drive applied, goes to next rail, pauses, and carries on, which is what i think you want. However, the DCC one, only goes to next track, then stops. You have to click it again to move on, again only to the next track. you need my friend Stingray, for this, as he has the same TT, as you, and i am sure he will  post an answer. Unless i have programmed my DCC TT, wrongly, i cant make it do, what you want to do, athough it is no problem for hornby on DC. If you wait, i am sure others will come in, and   say whether i am  right. On my layouts, both do exactly what i want them to do. , so am quite content. john

The Hornby R070 turntable has a Geneva gear drive which makes the movement pause at each outlet even though the motor continues to rotate.  There's nothing simple that you can do about the pauses, it's the way it's designed.

You can google Geneva drive to see how it works.

Hi Andrew,