eLink on Windows 8.1 - none of the icons work

bobakalen

Hi, I'm new to all this and have just bought a Western Master set, and am having trouble setting up on my (also new) Lenovo laptop running Windows 8.1. I've installed Railmaster and have successfully (on occasions) connected to the Elink. Once in Railmaster, though, none of the icons work for me - so I can't go into settings or any of the other programme options. I've checked that the Railmaster folder is not readonly, I'm running Railmaster as administrator, and I've checked the McAfee firewall settings to make sure the programme can access the internet. Any suggestions? Thanks, Bob

Bobakelen, hi and welcome to the forum. I would make several points. Firstly McAfee, is known to have problems with elink and rm, you dont need an intrenet connection to run either, so you could try, disabling, pro tem. Secondly, windows 8, is also known to be a tad tempremental with both, although there are those who succeed, quite happily. Just to humour me, there is a tried and tested way that it all works. Turn off everything. wait. Connect elink, wait. Turn on laptop, wait, wait, until all lights have stopped flashing on all drives. Then try. Let us know result. You will get other advice, so before you do, try what i have said. If it is all then ok, great. If not, try what others say. But, this works every time for me.            once you have it running, you will need the internet for new updates etc, but this will prove, if it is a Mcafee prob. john