Spraying a model

I have now returned back to model making after 45years and when I did model making back then every thing was painted using a brush, now it seems as air brushing is the way to go, so could someone point me in the right direction with airbrushing and what kit to purchase bearing in mind I have never used an airbrush before.

After many years I got myself an Iwate Neo. It's a cheap-end version of a very good name; what I also learned was to get a compressor too. Mine was around £65 give or take, I can't remember precisely. The compressor is cheap and cheerful and only designed for a few minutes operating at a time, but, it's got an air regulator knob (which falls off) and an air/moisture trap which attaches to the Neo. For plastic aircraft like we would be using it on, it's quite adequate.

It sounds expensive but it's only a few tins of air that have lack of control, don't last long and have a nasty habit of losing pressure during a spraying which forces one to stop until the can has warmed up again.  You do have to make sure you get the right hose ends to connect - I went through so much hassle I can't give any advice here. It's a Vogue Air, can be bought with or without an airbrush and can still be seen in model shops or online. I got mine without an airbrush since I'd bought the Neo seperately.

The Neo might be a cheap-end version of Iwata (the O-rings can be susceptible) and it can be a bit pesky to clean thoroughly, but there's enough control for me and my needs and even I have produce some adequately fine lines with it (down on the lever for air, back for paint).