Jouef old connector

Guest Chrissaf

Hello everyone,

I have a old Jouef train set with a battery powered "Contacteur Inverseur" (ref. 9883). However I do believe it is damaged and although I did find some on sale, I would like to know whether it is possible to update the set to a newer standard. Would the locomotive still work if, for instance, I acquire a new set of tracks and power supply? Any recommended action? I'm a newbie on this and would really appreciate some help!

Thank you!

Hi VMantus

On my Hornby/Peco/Bachmann 12v DC layout, powered by a DC lab supply unit driving Chinese motor speed controllers, I run

Jouef 8269 SNCF 141 P

Jouef 8355 SNCF 231 K

Jouef 8611 SNCF Class RTG Turbotrain, Power Unit (motorised)

and locos from 25 other manufacturers without a problem.

If your locos are 12V DC then you will be fine running them on "other" 12v DC layouts.

I would concur with that.

Jouef, Lima and similar makes are all generally compatible with 12V DC, I have run Triang, Hornby, Lima, Bachmann, Jouef, Fleishmann, and numerous other makes including a few I built myself all on the same power controllers which are rated at 12 - 15v DC controlled output.

Older trains (made before about 1975) tend to demand a bit more power than modern ones so some of the cheap controllers sold with modern train sets don't like them, and may cut out occasionally, but any of the purpose-built transformer/controller units such as H&M and Gaugemaster will be ideal.

Word of caution. Older pre-owned controllers powered from domestic mains supply should be tested by an electrician before use to ensure that the insulation is still safe .