Tyre grip helper

Storm68

Hey guys,

Everyone seems to have an opinion on whats best to use after trueing your tyres for added grip.

I've seen WD40 to sunburn cream being mentioned.

Plastic friendly oil seems the best best but most model shops here dont seem to have that.

I previously had RC cars and used marine grease and shock oil so thats not going to work here.

Is there a brand I can buy from the hardware store that will do the trick?

I did post on the Scalextric site and WD40 wins by a mile but reading here it can be a devil in disguise.

Also a complete noob question here, everyone saids to use a product after tyre trueing for grip but I dont really understand how it makes a difference.

I have used WD40 and the grip level is huge after use but I'm not sure why.

Its one of those I do it because everyone else does kind of things.

I have never heard of anyone using lead tape. Given lead is poisonous I wouldn't think of using it... unless you mean to use it weigh cars down?

I have used copper on older bits of Scalextric Classic track to bring it back to to life.

Out of curiositry, why are you bringing it up...?

Yes that is the Ballistol I was tlaking of.

Plastic safe, all natural (you can techincally drink it, please don't try though!) and useful for tons of stuff.

The Ballistol is very hard to get but I have 2 cans on order.

Our leading hardware chain Bunnings only stocks it as a special order with the warehouse on the other side of the country so it'll be here in a week or so.

The lead tape is something here people on the Aussie forums use a lot to add weight to the car for better grip.

You tape it in thin strips onto the inside chassis of the car at the sides and rear to weigh the car down.

Its primarily used for tennis rackets and golf clubs but guys here use it on thier cars.

You've not heard of people using this?

https://www.tenniswarehouse.com.au/unique-lead-tape.html