1/72 B25 C/D "worth fighting for"

Peter s

Hi All, This is my first attempt at posting a new topic. I bought the B25 C/D kit when it first came out but it immediately went into my stash and started gathering dust. I'm making a concerted effort to reduce the stash a bit and thought I'd better do some "big builds" before summer gets in the way.

Another poster invited me to post updates after I'd built the kit but before I really started painting so there's little in the way of "build" pics. All I can say is that its a very straight forward build. A little more complex than a Beaufighter or Blenheim but easier than a Lanc or B17. I found the airfix DO-17 harder to do well. 

The only thing I'd highlight is that its potentially a really bad tail sitter. There's a small void space for weight in the nose and this void needs to be totally filled with lead or else. I spent about 20 mins with a pair of side cutters, hammer and 20Z lead fishing weight shaping a lump to fit. If I was going to make another I'd stick two further lumps on the back of the cockpit bulkhead either side of the open door. You won't see weight there and it'll help. The props and glass in the nose are heavier than the turrets so I found it improved as I went along.