Can I combine Hornby with old Fleischmann? (novice)

gibbsyns3

I am new to model trains. I have been gifted a huge amount of old Fleishmann trains, wagons, track and scenery. 

I cannot get it to work, and do not know if it is the transformer, trains or something else I have done wrong, but as I intend to gift it on to my son I thought it might be best all round to buy a hornby set as a working starting point, and then use whatever of the fleishmann does work to extend the layout. 

From everything I have seen I understand the track will be compatible - is that correct?

What I do not know is whether the current Hornby power is compatible with this old set that looks like it is all from the 60s. 

Any advice gratefully received. 

/media/tinymce_upload/5e9cdf2abb92e65a81b13e2c8742eabc.jpg

/media/tinymce_upload/90bad20911cd1c77bafded2eb1027478.jpg/media/tinymce_upload/402cfff2c1fe113f8da68adc42718277.jpg

The Fleischmann has a very high probability of being HO scale (3.5mm to the foot). Hornby will be 00 scale (4mm to the foot). Both HO & 00 use track that is 16.5mm wide, so should theoretically connect together providing the Fleischmann is Code 100 track rails. The photographs seem to show that the track joiners are very similar to Hornby.

DC Analogue control power for two rail layouts is pretty much universal across different brands.

The main issue is the HO vs 00 scale. The HO rolling stock will look physically smaller when stood next to a piece of Hornby 00 rolling stock and the rolling stock couplings are very unlikely to be compatible.

In general, most would advise to standardise on one scale or the other and not mix them on the same layout.