Speed surge on lanechangers

Hi guys. I recently purchased my first slot car set a month ago, a second hand scalextric set. Got instantly hooked and just received the Platinum GT ARC Pro set and a few extra cars and pieces. My kids and I are having a great time so far!

I'm still learning about the slot car hobby and are searching the forum everyday for tips and answers.

One thing I haven't found an answer to is this:

when I drive in digital mode and especially at cruise speed, the cars get a small speed boost when driving over the pitlane trackpiece and the lanechangers.

it doesn't affect the driving as it is only for a millisecond, but the sound of it irritates me.

is there a solution to this?

it doesn't happen in analogue.

Jonas

Hi Jonas,

Glad you're having fun!

Does it happen to all the cars and all the switches?

Usually there is a drop in power when the cars cross the lane changes as they are unpowered.

The usual tip of cleaning the track often helps ....

What might possibly be happening is they are touching both lanes at once and while both lanes are supposed to have the same power all the time (in digital mode you are essentially tell the car how much power to consume rather than as in analog mode controlling how much power the car gets....) there is a small chance there is a difference and this might cause a small "blip" of power...

The easiest way to check is trim the braids as narrow as possible and make sure that the slot around the switches is clean and free from dust/lint/small bits of braid.

Then move the car at the absolute slowest speed (maybe even push it) to the lane changer and change lanes and see if it happens.

If you have a multimeter (sometimes called a voltmeter) you can also go around checking the power around the track to make sure it is the same everywhere.