Wiring track with extension pack A

Hello everyone,

I am new to this hobby, I just bought this track with extension pack A and power with HM6000. I don’t understand why I get short circuit when I switch the point to the side track. Have I done anything wrong connecting the track or power supply? Do I need insulated fishplates to avoid short circuit?

many thanks

forum_image_625ebc2a4b71f.png.a777addf549e7ce5cfdce5e7df99cb00.pngforum_image_625ebc2bec250.png.7225a81bb09a753a4d41edde046e42b6.pngforum_image_625ebc2e10599.png.1bc85f3d6b4e29a611138c4ba36ac7ef.png

As Rog says likely to be a faulty point.

For general wiring tips see the Getting started with Track Extensions guide in the General Discussion section.

Insulating fishplates aka IRJs are only really needed when you are using both control channels of the HM6000(s) connected to adjacent controlled track areas i.e. a pair of points crossing loop to loop would have IRJs at the inter-loop joint or where a siding is to be separately controlled. See A-B crossover, C to siding, D to siding and E to siding in the diagram.

forum_image_625ee9511d104.thumb.png.621d5d165883d4a5884c404fa3fb7fe8.png

As Rog says likely to be a faulty point.
For general wiring tips see the Getting started with Track Extensions guide in the General Discussion section.
Insulating fishplates aka IRJs are only really needed when you are using both control channels of the HM6000(s) connected to adjacent controlled track areas i.e. a pair of points crossing loop to loop would have IRJs at the inter-loop joint or where a siding is to be separately controlled. See A-B crossover, C to siding, D to siding and E to siding in the diagram.
forum_image_625ee9511d104.thumb.png.85a41dc2a8d1da4f163506b48bb9cbe6.png