Stopping on points.

kangooman

Hi all. This is my first post on this very infomative forum.

As you can probally guess I am a complete novice at railway modeling.

I have laid my baseboard (12mm ply on a 3x2 frame) and am in the process of track laying. I will be putting a bus under the layout and I am useing all Hornby track/points etc. I am testing the sections as i go along.

I first had the shorting problem with the points, but thats cured by using the insulated fishplates. But the well publisized problem of the loco (a 0-6-0 from the Somerset Belle Digi set) keep stopping on the points is driving me mad.

Ive tried a little packing , I've got the points pinned down etc but still getting the problem.

Now I am wondering if I was to use some silver conductive compound paint (google it) on the very top of the the black plastic frog ( ie paint the whole top V of the frog ) and still use the insulated fish plates would this overcome the problem. As far as I can see there is no way a short could occur because of the insulated fishplates.

Having said all that I expect you more knowledgable people will have tried it and will avise me accordingly

Thank for reading my first post and I hope you understand what I am trying to do.

Cheers Richard

As you surmised, this is a common problem with short wheel-base loco's and the plastic 'frog' on points.

Do NOT paint conductive paint on the plastic part of the point, all you will do is create more misery for yourself.

First off - make sure that all the pick-ups rubbing on the backs of the wheels are really rubbing, and not missing. Check by gently pressing each wheel sideways, and seeing if the wiper still contacts the wheel, check in both directions on all wheels.