2 questions from a noob...

frazzle

Hi guys, and i am pleased to join this forum.
Ok, im new to trains, so i have 2 unrelated queations:

1. I have bought a DCC set, its the Cornishman one. Ive also added Track Pack C, so its basically 2 ovals, 1 inside the other with a single

point between them. When i run the train on the INSIDE ring, and when i run it backwards, a weird thing happens. The train runs fine for a bit, then stops and jolts in the other direction, then stops again and begins its original course once more. I have used

the point pins to make sure power is covering the whole track, and this only happens when the train is traveling in revrse. Any suggestions?

2. I understand that 00 gauge is 1:76. So I took the measurements of my house. Its 21m long. This equates to

21000mm, so to scale I make this 276mm. This seemed a little large to me, so I looked at many of the larger Hornby Station Houses, and while they look like they would be huge buildings in real life, their scale sizes are around 190mm, much smaller than my

house. What am I doing wrong? I 'think' I understand how to calculate scale, but if im right, hornby are cheating and making their scenery to a smaller than 00 scale, and thats doesn't make sense?

Thanks for reading guys and MERRY XMAS to you all :)

Paul

Hi,

Your conversion is right enough.

21000mm is 68.9 feet in length. At 4mm to the foot therefore 68.9*4mm is 275.6mm.

I don't know but Hornby may be making use of shrinking these buildings so that they will fit on nearly all model

railways as a lot of their customers simply do not have space on their layouts for the full size buildings.

Cheers.

well, my track doesnt have much of a straight it does happen on the small straight too. Also the place it happens varies, though it seems

to like to be in 7 or 8 specific spots?

Hmmm interesting. Well if thats the case, does anyone know the actual scale Hornby use