ESU Switchpilot Decoder programming in Railmaster

Hope i have the right section of the forum this time. I have recently acquired an ESU switchpilot which I hope to use to automate some of the points on my layout. Let me state up front that I am new to DCC and though I have the basic railmaster setup working ok to control locomotves, this will be my first foray into accessory decoders. i have read the railmaster guide and the instructions which came with the Switchpilot but cannot seem to get it to work. I have programmed the switchpilot to set the ports to 1-4 - not sure about the pulse duration the default seemed to be 195 so left this alone. This was done via the prog connection on my elink.

I have a point configured on my track layout which functions when tested in isolation i.e the grey line moves in step with the button selected. When I connect the Swithpilot to the Track connections on the elink the led blinks and I fancy theer may be some noise associated with the point (only one physically connected as yet-  perhaps setting itself). However presiing the point buttons on screen does nothing. 

When I tried to read the Switchpilot settings subsequently (connected to prog) Railmaster was unale to communicate with the Switchpilot. That was last night. Today I tried again and Railmaster was able to communicate with the Switchpilot and the readings gave a first port number in the 6000's and a pulse duration of 16000!. Amended and saved the settings apparently successfully but when tested it still does not work and I can no longer read the Switchpilot in prog mode.

Either i have a faulty device (unlikely as it was brand new in its box) or I am doing something wrong - far more likely. Can anyone help.

Thanks

Peter